Simon Winchester The River at the Centre of the World

The River at the Centre of the World: A Journey Up the Yangtze, and Back in Chinese Time

The River at the Centre of the World: A Journey Up the Yangtze, and Back in Chinese Time

Simon Winchester*1 The River at the Centre of the World: A Journey up the Yangtze, and Back in Chinese Timeを最近読了。

Map of China
In Gratitude
Author's Note

1. The Plan
2. The Mouth, Open Wide
3. The City Without Past
4. The First Reach
5. City of Victims
6.Rising Waters
7. Crushed, Torn and Curled
9. A New Great Wall
10.The Shipmaster's Guide
11.The Foothills
12.The Garden Country of Joseph Rock
13.The River Wild
14.Harder Than the Road to Heaven

Suggestions for Further Reading

Simon Winchesterについて公式サイトのBio*2を引用しておこうと思ったのだが幾分長いので、短めの

Simon Winchester, OBE, is a British writer, journalist and broadcaster who resides in the United States. Through his career at The Guardian, Winchester covered numerous significant events including Bloody Sunday and the Watergate Scandal. As an author, Simon Winchester has written or contributed to over a dozen nonfiction books and authored one novel and his articles appear in several travel publications including Condé Nast Traveler, Smithsonian Magazine, and National Geographic.

In 1969, Winchester joined The Guardian, first as regional correspondent based in Newcastle upon Tyne, but was later assigned to be the Northern Ireland Correspondent. Winchester's time in Northern Ireland placed him around several events of The Troubles, including the events of Bloody Sunday and the Belfast Hour of Terror.

After leaving Northern Ireland in 1972, Winchester was briefly assigned to Calcutta before becoming The Guardian's American correspondent in Washington, D.C., where Winchester covered news ranging from the end of Richard Nixon's administration to the start of Jimmy Carter's presidency. In 1982, while working as the Chief Foreign Feature Writer for The Sunday Times, Winchester was on location for the invasion of the Falklands Islands by Argentine forces. Suspected of being a spy, Winchester was held as a prisoner in Tierra del Fuego for three months.

Winchester's first book, In Holy Terror, was published by Faber and Faber in 1975. The book drew heavily on his first hand experiences during the turmoils in Ulster. In 1976, Winchester published his second book, American Heartbeat, which dealt with his personal travels through the American heartland. Winchester's third book, Prison Diary, was a recounting of his imprisonment at Tierra del Fuego during the Falklands War and, as noted by Dr Jules Smith, is responsible for his rise to prominence in the United Kingdom. Throughout the 1980s and most of the 1990s, Winchester produced several travel books, most of which dealt with Asian and Pacific locations including Korea, Hong Kong, and the Yangtze River.

Winchester's first truly successful book was The Professor and the Madman (1998) published by Penguin UK as The Surgeon of Crowthorne. Telling the story of the creation of the Oxford English Dictionary, the book was a New York Times Best Seller, and the rights to a film version were optioned by Mel Gibson; likely to be directed by John Boorman.

Though he still writes travel books, Winchester has repeated the narrative non-fiction form he used in The Professor and the Madman several times, many of which ended in books placed on best sellers lists. His 2001 book, The Map that Changed the World focused on geologist William Smith and was his second New York Times best seller. The year 2003 saw Winchester release another book on the creation of the Oxford English Dictionary, The Meaning of Everything, as well as the best-selling Krakatoa: The Day the World Exploded. Winchester followed Krakatoa's volcano with San Francisco's 1906 earth quake in A Crack in the Edge of the World. The Man Who Loved China (2008) retells the life of eccentric Cambridge scholar Joseph Needham who helped to expose China to the western world. Simon Winchester's latest book The Alice Behind Wonderland was released March 11, 2011.


The Republic of Plato, Second Edition(Translated, with Notes, an Interpretive Essay, and a New Introduction by Allan Bloom*3 ), Basic Books, 1991

The Republic Of Plato: Second Edition

The Republic Of Plato: Second Edition

Gianbattista Vico The First New Science (translated abd edited by Leon Pompa), Cambridge University Press, 2002*4

Vico: The First New Science (Cambridge Texts in the History of Political Thought)

Vico: The First New Science (Cambridge Texts in the History of Political Thought)